iggy info(need help)
  • jimbatesjimbates December 2006
    hi all.i just bought a green baby iguana from pets world.i think its about 2 monts old.the problem is my iggy doesnt have the motivation to eat at all.i dont know what to do.now i force feed my iggy e'day with kangkung.s'imes feed with fruits.but m iggy never eat what i give if not orced.can any one help me??my iggy seems to get scared to me also...help!!! cry
  • December 2006 Edit
    I am not an expert on iggy but if ur iggy is not eating maybe it is not digesting well. Do u have a UV light and a basking Spot light. Reptiles need heat and UV to digest their food. And u need to get them calcium and D3 powder to add to their food. D3 prevent them from getting MBD.

** If i am mistaken, I hope someone with more experience can correct me. TQ!!!
  • December 2006 Edit
    Do you sun bath your iggy? Most of the time sun bathing iggy can help to cure them. Just the matter of time. Try sun bath it. It may help. Continue providing them fresh vege even it doesnt really take. Chop those vege into small pieces which can be eaten by your iggy. Try few other vege like collard green, dandelion greens, choi sam, pak choi... Like alligator_28 said, sprinkle some calcium powder onto the vege for your iggy to eat. but you need to sun bath it as those calcium it consumed require UVB to transform it into vit D3.

Those iggy in PW dont really look good & they are very young, small iggy. It needs a lot of care. They can easily get sick during that age.
  • December 2006 Edit
    Ya...try sun-bathing it. Should help. Keep us updated on ur iggy. Hope it gets well soon.
  • December 2006 Edit
    Make sure you take it in when its mouth is open. If not your iggy will dehydrated. But you can leave it under shade near sun light as the heat can keep him active & digesting the food it consumed.
  • December 2006 Edit